What’s for Dinner Wednesday: Date Night

Back again with another What’s for Dinner? Wednesday and tonight happened to be date night! We haven’t had date night in quite some time: either since my birthday date or when we went to the Nationals’ game. It’s one of my 2012 resolutions to go on one date night per month so tonight not only did I have a nice dinner with my husband but I also got to check a box on resolutions spreadsheet. Win-win!

Mike’s trying to “get into sushi” and we had a Living Social deal for Sushiko in Chevy Chase (Friendship Heights) that expires at the end of the month so we decided to go to Sushiko for our first date night of the year.

We started with some drinks: a rum and Coke for Mike and a mangotini for me.

Then I had a house salad with ginger dressing to start (which I pretty much inhaled and then had to tell myself to slow down, that I’m not in an eating contest, I’m on a date).

Don’t you love how vibrant and fresh that looks?

Next we ordered two rolls to share: the rock shrimp cilantro and the crunchy spicy salmon.  Mike chose both of these and I was happy to oblige.  Sometimes it feels so good to just trust your partner’s judgement. And it paid off.  Both rolls were delicious. The cilantro in the rock shrimp cilantro roll was so bright and fresh, it was awesome!

We topped off our meal with a soft shell crab roll.

Good meal.  I imagine we’ll be back again soon.

I’m glad we both enjoy sushi now.  Sometimes if we need a quick dinner we’ll stop at Whole Foods and grab some out of their pre-made case. It’s so funny how tastes can change.  If you would’ve told me 3 years ago that I’d like sushi by now I probably would’ve said you’re crazy.

I still kind of struggle while eating it though.  I feel like it’s a lot to put the whole thing in your mouth at once but it’s really poor sushi etiquette to not take it all in one bite.  (I learned that on a Bobby Flay Throwdown I think).  And honestly it just looks bad if you don’t. But I feel like it’s a lot to get down and I start to swallow it before I even get to taste it. Does anyone else have this problem?

I’d love to know:

Are you a sushi fan?  

What did you have for dinner?

5 responses

  1. I still can’t get into sushi 😦 And it’s not the raw fish aspect.. I love tuna tar tar etc etc.. there’s something in sushi rolls that I don’t like and I still haven’t been able to pin point it. I’m sure Scott would love it if I liked it because he’s a big fan.. maybe I’ll work on it this year like I did last year with raw tomatoes (which I now don’t get a sandwich without!) Can’t wait to see you friend ❤

    • Hmm if it’s not raw fish, maybe it’s the seaweed taste? I definitely prefer rolls that have rice on the outside and seaweed on the inside. Good luck trying to get into it. You could make some pretty fun date nights out of it!
      Thanks for reading and commenting!
      See you soon!

  2. Sushi is one of my all time favorite meals. I started really enjoying sushi in college. All of my friends loved it! My favorite rolls are the spicy tuna or shrimp tempura rolls (the latter is a cooked roll, for those that are worried about raw fish) Sometimes I’ll be lucky enough to find a combination of the two in one roll. This definitely is a big bite!! I like to ask them to cut it in flatter discs at places I know are infamous for large cuts! This way you can just lay in on your tongue, but easier.

    My new years resolutions are to eat healthy and not cancel on any of my training sessions. Most people think sushi is a healthy meal, or at least I did but I found that to not be the case when I thought about the deep fried crunch of a shrimp tempura roll, the thick white rice coating and the intense amount of either soy sauce or spicy mayo I use! But even though it seems to fashion forward to be sushi fan, it is not always healthy! If I choose to eat sushi now it is a brown rice vegetable roll with low sodium soy sauce and edamame on the side. If I really must I will splurge for the brown rice vegetable tempura, which tastes just as delicious as the shrimp). Maybe those timid should start with a tempura rather than a California roll!

  3. Pingback: What’s for Dinner? Easy Friday | things after the rings

Leave a Reply

